2010 Tennessee Rugby Awards Banquet
Hosted by the Volunteer Rugby Foundation

April 24, 2010 - Over 120 alumni, family and friends attended the 2010 Awards Banquet hosted by the Volunteer Rugby Foundation and held at the Knoxville Expo Center. Folks arrived beginning at 6:00 PM, the buffet line was opened at 7:00 and the program began at 8:00.


  • Opening Remarks, year in review and a preview of coming events was delivered by Head Coach Butch Robertson. Items of interest included over 40 players making the selection for the Varsity team this academic year and an overview on the rapidly changing atmospere of collegiate rugby in the US.
  • Assistant Coach Marty Bradley provided information on the Volunteer Rugby Foundation and recaped some of the foundation's involvement over the past year including: $1500 in assistance for the national tournament, $1000 in assistance towards the banquet and an anticipated $4000 in assistance to the Tennessee Rugby Park. An outline of coming improvements to the giving program for the foundation was also provided.
  • Club President Joel Fugate welcomed all in attendance and reflected on the accomplishments of our rookie class of players and then formally announced the end to their rookie year.
  • Assistant Coach Andy Allen presented the Iron Man Award, Grindstone Scholarship, Volunteer Scholarship and Rose Scholarship.
  • Bill Peterson presented the Sexton Scholarships.
  • Robertson presented the Ultimate Man Award.
  • Robertson presented the Class of 2010 by recognizing each senior with the presentment of their Senior Mug and the Old Boys in attendance welcomed them to the fold. Special thanks to UT Old Boys Matt Abernathy and Shane Randolph for their assistance in this most important ceremony.



2010 Awards

Nick Evans

Ultimate Man
Joel Fugate

Jonathan Houck

Sammy Anderson

Elliott Woodall

Seth Jones
Benji Goff
Joel Fugate

Tom Abernathy
Zach Boswell
Jonathan Brown
Tommy Derryberry
Forrest Hallmark
Lucas Hofmeister
Hunter Lee
Joe McLaughlin
Brad Meccia
Eric Wright