skip navigation

2019 SCRC All Conference Team Announced

By MTB, 12/13/19, 10:00AM EST


Ben Schwartz named D1AA Player of the Year

The Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference has released the 2019 All Conference Teams.

The 2019 15s D1AA Player of the Year is the University of Tennessee's Ben Schwartz.  Schwartz led the Volunteers at fullback in a season that saw more teams than ever before turn to tactical kicking.  He capped the year with 16 points in the conference championship match (4 conversions, 1 penalty kick and 1 try).  The MVP of the conference championship match is also the 2019 SCRC D1AA Player of the Year.

2019 SCRC Dream Team
The Volunteers placed 5 players on the 2019 SCRC Dream Team including: Lock Greg Janowick, Flanker Andy Lloyd,  #8 Patrick Beacom, Scrumhalf Luke Davies, Fullback Ben Schwartz

2019 SCRC D1AA All Conference
Additionally Creighton Couch along with Janowick, Lloyd, Beacom, Davies and Schwartz were named to D1AA All Conference.

  • Greg Janowick - Junior Lock majoring in Animal Scient from Chicago
  • Andy Lloyd - Senior flanker majoring in Business from Sydney, Australia
  • Patrick Beacom - Junior #8 majoring in Supply Chain Management from Nashville
  • Luke Davies - Sophomore Scrumhalf majoring in Business from  Weston, Connecticut
  • Ben Schwartz - Senior Fullback majoring in Mechanical Engineering from Knoxville.
  • Creighton Couch - Senior Prop majoring in Mechanical Engineering from Goodlettsville. 

Congratulations to these men on these additional honors resulting from a very successful fall campaign that included the SCRC D1AA Championship.