skip navigation

2017 Volunteer Rugby Awards Banquet

By MTB, 04/30/17, 6:00PM EDT


Annual awards, scholarship and senior recognition highlight the night

Another big turnout for the 2017 Volunteer Rugby Awards Banquet as over 125 attended the annual celebration at the Knoxville Convention Center on Saturday night.  Alumni and family joined players and dates in recognizing players for our work and commitment to Tennessee Rugby.  

The annual gala included a silent auction and also featured an exciting glimpse of the upcoming documentary on the history of Tennessee Rugby.

The night began with an opening remarks by Master of Ceremonies Andy Allen followed by our invocation by team Chaplain Hank Marshman. After a buffet dinner, Coach Bradley opened the meeting with some summary remarks on 2016-2017 and some details on plans for 2017-2018.  Next came the team awards following by player recognition and then scholarship announcements. The night wrapped up with the presentation of this year's senior class and their presentment to the UT Old Boys.  Father Bob O'Donnell closed the evening with a benediction and the crowd was released into the Knoxville night.  

Special thanks to Susie Allen for all her work for the banquet and also to Andy Allen for his masterful job of serving as master of ceremonies.  This event has become the pinnacle of the year and Susie and Andy are the big reason for that.

Sexton Scholarship Recipients

2017 Seniors

Team Awards

Scholar Athlete of the Year - Nick Duklewski
Honoring the student athlete that ha snot only performed at a high level on the field but also has achieved a high level of academic excellence.

Character and Sportsmanship Award - David Ilchert
Honoring the student athlete that has exhibited a high level of character and sportsmanship both on and off the field.

Dedication Award - Duncan Bintrim
Honoring the student athlete that has shown a commitment and devotion to the team both on and off the field.

Hartley Award for Inspirational Leadership - Jack Donlon
Honoring the student athlete that has the ability to lift a team with both his performance and his communication.

Volunteer Award - Keenan Kayser
Honoring the student athlete that continually displays a heart for giving and volunteerism and has a demonstrated characteristic of freely giving to the team.

Player Recognition

Most Valuable 15s Player
Keenan Kayser
Dylan Craven

Most Valuable 7s Player
Travis Vickers

Player of the Year
Kerry Roberts, Jr.

2017 Ironman Award
Nick Duklewski
Jack Donlon
Duncan Bintrim
Details >>


Volunteer Scholarship (Details)
Will Shaw, flanker,Father Ryan High School
Graham Wallace, lock, Ravenwood High School
Jace Walter, flanker, Ravenwood High School
Tory Griffin, #8, Ravenwood High School
Justin Walker, lock, Ravenwood High School
Andy Dukes, center, William Blount High School (Bearden)
Dawson Moseley, prop, Bearden High School
Tyler Watson, fullback, Germantown High School

Grindstone Scholarship (Details)
Travis Vickers

Sexton Scholarship (Details)
Keenan Kayser
Travis Vickers
Sam Hawkins
Duquesne Cook


Cormac Barry
Bobby Hughes
David Nuckolls
Nick Duklewski
Jack Donlon
Duncan Brintrim 

Kerry Roberts Jr, Player of the Year

Dylan Craven & Keenan Kayser, 15s MVP

Travis Vickers, 7s MVP

Nick Duklewski, Scholar Athlete of the Year

Duncan Bintrim, Dedication Award

David Ilchert, Character & Sportsmanship Award

Keenan Kayser, Volunteer Award

Jack Donlon, Hartley Award for Inspirational Leadership

Travis Vickers, Grindstone Scholarship

2016-2017 Captains

2017 Ironman Award