skip navigation

UT Recognizes Sexton Scholarship

By mtb, 04/26/18, 2:45PM EDT


Tennessee's Lane and Rivas are 2018 Recipients

The Founders and Operating Committee of the Richard Sexton Scholarship were recognized and 2 scholarships were presented during the 2018 Volunteer Rugby Gala at the Knoxville Convention Center on Saturday night.

Recipients of the 2018 Sexton Scholarship were:

Tommy Lane
Tommy is a rising junior from Knoxville majoring in Kinesiology.  He is the current president of the rugby club. This past season Lane was a starting center for the Volunteers.

Nesto Rivas
Nesto is a rising senior from Cordova majoring in Psychology.  He is the current 2nd Vice President of the rugby club. This past season Rivas was a starting lock for the Volunteers.

Steve Catlett, Associate Vice Chancellor for Development, and Mark Clark, Director of Development from the University of Tennessee presented the Sexton Founders and Current Committee with certificates of recognition.   

Chris Finch
Susan Campbell
Bill (Yamaha) Peterson
Bob Miller
John Shaw
Butch Robertson
Marty Bradley

“Thirty–eight years ago, a small group of young alumni, friends, and family decided preserve the legacy Richard Sexton by creating an endowed scholarship in his memory. As a result of their commitment and devotion, more than $120,000 has been awarded to over 110 Sexton Scholarship recipients. That’s not only a remarkable way to honor Richard’s life but also a tremendous reflection of those who love Richard and love Tennessee Rugby.”
- Mark Clark, Director of Development, University of Tennessee

For details and history of the Richard Sexton Scholarship, visit : Sexton Scholarship

Susan Campbell and 2018 recipient Tommy Lane

Susan Campbell and 2018 recipient Nesto Rivas